Thursday, July 31, 2014

The Japan Society NYC's 2014-2015 Schedule Up-Japanese Dance-Music-Theater


(http://youtu.be/yN1SM4QoHNY)
Be a part of Japan Society’s 2014-15 Performing Arts season! A dynamic fall shamisen series ushers in the new season with concerts that spotlight leading musicians from Japan playing a range of musical styles. The spring offers a special Society-wide series honoring the 70th anniversary of the end of World War II with related theater programs and more. In between, join us for some favorites such as the Contemporary Dance Showcase, Play Reading, a new commission and a variety of workshops.

---------

MUSIC
The Shamisen Sessions, Vol. 1
Hiromitsu Agatsuma + Akiko Yano
Saturday, September 27, 7:30 PM 
http://www.japansociety.org/event/und...

MUSIC
The Shamisen Sessions, Vol. 2
Yumiko Tanaka live shamisen accompaniment for
Crossroads (Jujiro)
Saturday, November 15, 7:30 PM
http://www.japansociety.org/event/the...

MUSIC
The Shamisen Sessions, Vol. 3
A Salute to Tradition
Thursday, November 20, 7:30 PM 
http://www.japansociety.org/event/the...

MUSIC
The Shamisen Sessions, Vol. 4
SAKISHIMA meeting
duo from Okinawa
Friday, December 12, 8:30 PM 
http://www.japansociety.org/event/the...

DANCE
16th Contemporary Dance Showcase: Japan + East Asia
Friday, January 9, 7:30 PM 
Saturday, January 10, 7:30 PM 
http://www.japansociety.org/event/16t...

THEATER
Stories from the War
Miwa Yanagi
Zero Hour: Tokyo Rose's Last Tape
Thursday, January 29 — Saturday, January 31 
http://www.japansociety.org/event/zer...

THEATER
Play Reading Series
Dancing with the Bird
Monday, March 9, 7:30 PM 
http://www.japansociety.org/event/pla...

THEATER
Stories from the War
Michiko Godai
Yokohama Rosa
Saturday, April 25, 7:30 PM 
Sunday, April 26, 2:30 PM 
http://www.japansociety.org/event/yok...

THEATER/TRADITIONAL
Stories from the War
New and Traditional Noh:
Holy Mother in Nagasaki &
Kiyotsune
Thursday, May 14 — Saturday, May 16 
http://www.japansociety.org/event/new...

DANCE
Kota Yamazaki/Fluid hug-hug
OQ
Friday, June 5, 7:30 PM 
Saturday, June 6, 7:30 PM 
http://www.japansociety.org/event/oq

---------

http://www.japansociety.org/

Music: Hiromitsu Agatsuma - Tsugaru Jongara-bushi

Imafuii Chotatsuro and Kineya Mitsuya performance footage at .29-.30 was provided by NIPPON STEEL & SUMITOMO METAL Arts Foundation